Flop of the Year Nominees

The nominees for the Bidone d’Oro award as Serie A Flop of the Year are announced, including Gabigol, Juan Iturbe, Joao Mario and Carlos Bacca.

The annual trophy, which translates as ‘Golden Bin’, has become a mainstay in Italian football.

Inter dominate the nominations for the Flop 10 this year, as they are represented by midfielders Joao Mario, Ever Banega, defender Jeison Murillo and striker Gabriel ‘Gabigol’ Barbosa.

The forward currently on loan at Benfica must be the hot favourite, as Inter paid €29.5m to sign him from Santos and he wasn’t given a single Serie A start.

Milan forward Bacca, sold to Villarreal this summer, and defender Gabriel Paletta represent the other half of San Siro.

Napoli spent €25m to poach defender Nikola Maksimovic from Torino, but after a seemingly endless transfer tug-of-war, he made the move only to spend most of the season on the bench.

Juan Manuel Iturbe is a repeat offender, having flopped at Roma and the loan spell with Torino.

Palermo goalkeeper Josip Posavec and oft-injured defender Thomas Vermaelen, who made little positive impact at Roma, round out the candidates.

Follow the stars and start making more informed bets with StrataBet.

Sign Up for FREE now!